Uncategorized

Vancouver Trip

IMG_0476

Right after crossing the US-Canada border. I captured this scenery because it looked like the rural part of Korea, where my grandma lives.
IMG_0481

Crossing the bridge. I love the geometric aspects of this photo!IMG_0488

I SEE YOU, DOWNTOWN VANCOUVER!
IMG_0489

We visited Mount Grouse then Capilano Suspension Bridge. The reason why I don’t have any pictures from Mount Grouse is because I went zip lining and didn’t bring my camera. The zip lining was amazing and one of the memories in life that I will cherish forever. My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend it. smooth

So I’ve always read tips on how to capture waterfall, but I had never actually tried it out myself–until this day. I really noticed the aesthetic difference between changing the shutter speed for photographing that “smooth” waterfall. I wish I had a tripod, but oh well.

After Capilano, we checked into Best Western Plus to take a quick shower and headed to the International Summer Night Market. THE BEST THING EVER. So many food vendors and market vendors! It was overwhelming at first, but I got used to the craziness. We ate so many things like fusion noodles, lamb skewer, Taiyaki, shrimp dumplings, mango shaved ice, and bubble tea. We wanted to try out more food because this night market is open for a limited time. I also bought things such as false lashes, headbands, bun donut, socks, and iPhone 5 charger. I wish I can go back there and eat more food!

IMG_0590

This is the second day in BC, Canada. We accidentally slept in until 10 a.m. (when we were suppose to be up at 7 a.m.) so our plans were all delayed. Day 2 in BC, Canada took place in Victoria, BC, which is an island. We took the BC Ferries from Tsawwassen terminal to Swartz Bay terminal. It costed about $15/each person.
IMG_0613_1

In downtown Victoria, we first visited the Blue Fox Cafe. Hands down the best quesadilla I have ever had. I ate the Moroccon Chicken Quesadilla and it was heavenly. My sister had the Moroccon Chicken Egg Benny (Benedict) and she also loved hers too. If you go to Victoria but not this cafe, you are making a big mistake.

After our heavy, yet delicious lunch, we headed straight to the Fairmont Empress Hotel and the Parliament Building. Because it was such a gloomy day, the pictures  didn’t turn out so well. Actually, it was beginning to sprinkle when I took the above photo.
IMG_0624

Next stop was to the Butchart Garden. We had so much trouble trying to find the right bus stop and actually missed the bus right in front of our faces. But it’s all good. We made it and it was lovely. We didn’t expect much because it was JUST a flower garden. But the beautiful scenery and calming atmosphere really proved us wrong. Because we went on a Monday and it was sprinkling, we didn’t see a big crowd (phew!). IMG_0657_1

SO…IMG_0670_1

…MANY…
IMG_0690

…PRETTY…IMG_0697

…THINGS…IMG_0708

…TO TAKE…IMG_0725

…PICTURES OF! (Well this isn’t really “pretty” but I thought it was pretty cool. My sister thinks I take pictures of odd things…)

Before we exited the Butchart Garden, there was a corner where they were selling gelato. We tried the rose chocolate flavored gelato and let me just say that it was the best flavored gelato I have ever tried. The blend of rose aroma and the thinly sliced chocolate ratio was perfectly balanced, enlightening my taste buds. I’m not even exaggerating. I didn’t even  get a chance to take a picture of it, because I just couldn’t wait to get another bite of it.
IMG_0740

The last day of our trip, we drove back to Seattle, WA in the early morning in order to avoid traffic jam and delayed border crossing time. We basically chilled and relaxed by eating this wonderful Cuban sandwiches, homemade ice creams, and even visited the evolution fresh store for some cold pressed juices!

This memorable trip really uplifted my mood for the whole summer. I don’t really see this trip as a temporary escape from reality. I view it as a bonding experience between me and my sister, a self-recharging moment before my first college year and just overall mind cleansing. If it is possible, I would love to go back and discover more local cafes, hidden gem spots for photography and museums.

Standard

Leave a Reply

